Senate recognizes outstanding cooperatives assisted by LANDBANK

Friday, August 17, 2018

The winners of Gawad PITAK were recognized at the Senate last August 14, 2018 through the filing of resolutions by Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri. This is the 2nd year that Gawad PITAK awardees are honoured at the Senate.

Outstanding cooperatives being assisted by LANDBANK are once again given recognition through the filing of resolutions by Chairman on Senate Committee on Cooperatives Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri on August 14.

This is the second year that Senator Zubiri has filed resolutions to honor the cooperatives that were awarded in LANDBANK Gawad sa Pinakatanging Kooperatiba (Gawad PITAK). In filing the resolutions, Zubiri highlighted the importance of the cooperatives as major contributors in nation-building, especially in uplifting the local economy.

A resolution was also filed for T’boli, South Cotabato native Pacifico C. Cordada, Jr., who was conferred with the Ulirang Magsasaka Award, a recognition given to outstanding farmer-members of LANDBANK-assisted cooperatives for their ingenuity and contribution in their communities’ development.

Senator Juan Miguel F. Zubiri and LANDBANK Executive Vice President Julio D. Climaco, Jr. (4th from left) lead the ceremonial ribbon cutting of the Gawad PITAK exhibit at the Senate on August 1, with the Chairpersons of the winning cooperatives.


Zubiri, who also serves as Chairperson for the Gawad PITAK’s Board of Judges, led the ribbon-cutting for the Senate exhibit featuring the success stories of the cooperatives, the highlights of their operations, and their contributions to their members and communities. The exhibit will run until August 23.

Now on its 28th year, the Gawad PITAK is LANDBANK’s pioneering program that recognizes the outstanding contribution of cooperatives in helping bring growth and development in the countryside, with due assistance from the Bank, through their own product and service offerings.

Leading this year’s roster of winners are Buenavista Development Cooperative of Buenavista, Guimaras, and Sacred Heart Savings Cooperative of Galimuyod, Ilocos Sur. Both cooperatives bagged the Ginintuang Gawad PITAK for Agri-based and Non-Agri-based categories - the highest award conferred this year.

Also honoured are Bantug Agricultural Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Talavera, Nueva Ecija, and Abra Diocesan Teachers and Employees Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Bangued, Abra who were recognized as Pinakatanging Kooperatiba under the agri-based and non-agri-based categories, respectively. Meanwhile, Bontoc Multi-Purpose Cooperative of Bontoc, Leyte received this year’s Hall of Fame Award under the agri-based category.